Studying for GMAT after getting admission into my target business school

This may seem a little strange, But I am actually studying for GMAT after I have made it into the business school of my choice. I wanted to get my part ime MBA from University of Texas at Austin and I am happy to say that I have accomplished that goal. However, during this process I found out that GMAT may be one of the criteria future employers may use to screen out applicants especially during the on campus recruitment process.
So, once again, I am starting back on my GMAT journey.I only have about a month left before I get involved with my classes. I do believe I have a good plan in place to attack the GMAT. Here are the books I am planning to use:
Verbal Section –
Powerscore Critical Reasoning Bible
Manhattan Sentence Correction – Completed this over the weekend.
Kaplan Verbal Review – Completed the SC section

Quant
Tata McGraw hill – Conquering the GMAT – I plan to use this to brush up the basic quant knowledge and formulaes. I remember the last time I took the GMAT, there was a straight question to find the surface area of a cone. It was one of the first questions in the Quant section and I didnt know the formula for it. Dont want to make the same mistake again.

I also want to get through the Official guide for the rest of the sections.
I see that a new section has been added to the GMAT. Since I am short on time, I am going to have to leave out preparation for this section and hope for the best.

Once again, I believe the beattheGMAT forum is a source of great amount of information. I see there are people like me who have tried this and suceeded. It is definitely re-assuring to read experiences of people who are in a similar boat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

